The Great Proto-Indo-European Thread's Sequel

Natural languages and linguistics
KathTheDragon

The Great Proto-Indo-European Thread's Sequel

Post by KathTheDragon »

Let's start this thread again, after 89 pages and 1 post on the old board.

To kick off, I read this article by Kloekhorst the other day, on the origin of nominal accent-ablaut paradigms and ultimately the case-endings. He's got some interesting ideas, but I'm not sure how plausible some of his assumptions are. What do you guys think?
WeepingElf

Re: The Great Proto-Indo-European Thread's Sequel

Post by WeepingElf »

That article surely is very interesting, and I did not notice any obvious problems with it (but then, I am only an amateur in this field, and I may be missing something important). It is also pretty compatible with my own thinking. I have been assuming a penultimate accent for PIE1 (the pre-ablaut stage) for years, and the dynamic paradigms can IMHO be reduced to that, if one assumes that the right-shifting case endings were bisyllabic. Note that the inanimate absolutive was endingless. The notion that inanimate nouns had a defective paradigm in PIE1 is also one I have been entertaining for years (and pursued in my PIE1-based conlang Old Albic).

I don't think, though, that the PIE sigmatic nominative ever was an ergative. Rather, I suspect a topic marker here, which is something different. The animate accusative *-m may have started as an "animacy-neutralizing" morpheme of sorts, which may be the reason why the plural marker follows it in the acc. pl. rather than preceding it as one would expect from an agglutinating paradigm. This *-m, however, is clearly of Indo-Uralic age, and thus probably older than most other case suffixes in PIE.
... brought to you by the Weeping Elf
My conlang pages
KathTheDragon

Post by KathTheDragon »