Project Mammoth Hunter - Help me make my first conlang

Conworlds and conlangs
Këkkytir

Project Mammoth Hunter - Help me make my first conlang

Post by Këkkytir »

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner conlanger and I'm looking for some help with my first conlang. If you're interested, you can find the details below.

----

About me
I'm a native hungarian speaker. Besides that, I speak english kind of fluently, german on a basic level and I know some esperanto, too. I'm a big conlang fan since my childhood and I've been playing with the idea of making my own conlang for years now. I have some very general knowledge about linguistics and I've read the Language Construction Kit (sort of).

About the project
Starting from zero, I'd like to create the basis of my first conlang with your valued help. It should get to the point from which I can finish it on my own. I have two (maybe three) months of relative freetime to do that. So the project starts on November 1 and probably ends on December 31.

Language concept
It should be simplistic conlang, a way for me to learn and gain experience. In other words, it doesn't need to be a full-fledged language. I'd like to draw from the languages I know, i.e. hungarian, english, german and esperanto. I have a vague concept in mind, and hopefully, you'll help me make it work.

Language backstory
First of all, this isn't really meant to be a fantasy language, so a backstory is kind of unnecessary. But some people like to draw inspiration from the backstory, so here is a short one I came up with:
It's the forgotten language of a paleolithic tribe of humans living in north-east Siberia. They live in small nomadic clans and have a shamanistic religion. They hunt various kinds of animals, mostly seals, walrus reindeer and mammoth. Mammoth is the hardest prey, so it is held in high regards among the tribesman. Btw, that's where the project's name come from.

What kind of help do I need?