Darren's Mitsiefa Thread

Conworlds and conlangs
Darren

Darren's Mitsiefa Thread

Post by Darren »

I'm feeling productive today, so here's a scratchpad. I've managed to avoid posting any of my conlangs over the past four years (discounting the relay) so it's probably about time I shared something – and no, there isn't something I've been working on for four years, there's just something I've been working on for precisely one day.

Contents

Pchekeho
Phonology

Mitsiefa, an overly minimalist language
Last edited by Darren on Mon Mar 11, 2024 1:34 am, edited 5 times in total.
Darren

Re: Darren's scratchpad: Pchekeho phonology

Post by Darren »

Ignore this, this is now a Mitsiefa thread. Pchekeho is relegated to the deepest recesses of my brain (i.e. not very deep, there's not very much room in there)

More: show
Pchekeho

Pchekeho is just a placeholder name. This language is like Maxakalí combined with Karajá, Northwest Mekeo and Skou. It's got no coronals, nasals or fricatives (other than /h/), batshit ATR harmony and nasal harmony. It also has twice as many vowels as consonants, and distinguishes all of /ə ʌ̟ æ ɐ ɑ/. The grammar is will be more Papuan, with some lovely consonant gradation in verbs, a split-intransitive alignment (hopefully), gender, and lots of completely useless verbal morphology which specifies literally everything apart from what's useful.

Phonology

/p k ʔ/ ⟨p~k k~ch x⟩
/b ɡ h/ ⟨b~m~g g~n~j~nh h⟩

/i ɨ u/ ⟨i u o⟩
/ɪ ɪ̈ ʊ/ ⟨ɪ ʊ ɔ⟩
/e̞ ə/ ⟨e ə⟩
/ɐ ʌ̟/ ⟨ɐ a⟩
/æ ɑ/ ⟨ɛ ɑ⟩

These vowels (and the romanisation thereof) make more sense when split up into ATR groups:

+ATR /i ɨ u e̞ ʌ̟/ ⟨i u o e a⟩
–ATR /ɪ ɪ̈ ʊ æ ɑ/ ⟨ɪ ʊ ɔ ɛ ɑ⟩
neutral /ə ɐ/ ⟨ə ɐ⟩