How did you personally go about choosing your language's syntax and other related attributes?

Conworlds and conlangs
Eti

How did you personally go about choosing your language's syntax and other related attributes?

Post by Eti »

I'm brand new to this scene, so while I am (relatively) clueless when it comes to certain concepts in how this whole construction process works, I will say now that I'm aware that this process differs from person to person. Being fresh out of the gates I'd rather have at least something as my point of reference. Apologies ahead of time if anything I ask is considered taboo! :P

Now to get to the cut. The LCK has certainly shown me a lot of possibilities for how to handle my language, but more often than not I find myself getting quite overwhelmed with the options. I know the general idea of how to choose them (e.g. what matches the culture, context of the world, etc.) but there's a lot of options that really don't work with this linear thought process as simply as I thought they might.